Friday 3 February 2012


                                                                           Press Release
                 PR/ 7 /CH/2012                                                                                     3rd February, 2012
  Under Section 13(1) of the Press Council Act, 1978, it is the duty of the Press Council to preserve the freedom of the Press.  I have been receiving reports from several quarters in several States that the freedom of the Press is in various being imperilled ways, e.g. :-
(i)                  By physical assaults on journalists/media establishments by various government
agencies and other persons/organizations;

(ii)                By withholding government advertisements/other facilities when a newspaper is critical of the government;
(iii)               Various other ways, including threats.
I have already issued strong letters to the Chief Ministers of J&K, Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh in this connection.  I have also sent a letter to the Chief Minister of West Bengal objecting to  the new rules regarding accreditation of journalists, some of which are likely to adversely effect the freedom of the Press.
Freedom of speech and expression is a guaranteed right under Article 19(1) (a) of the Constitution.  Since I feel that this freedom is under threat in many States I intend to send Fact Finding Teams to some of the States from where we are getting a large number of such complaints.  I have sought the opinion of the Members of the Press Council in this connection.
The Chief Ministers/Chief Secretaries/Secretaries  of the  Information Department of all State Government are hereby informed  that the violation of the Constitutional right to freedom of the press will not be tolerated by the Press Council  any more, and a serious view and strong action will be taken by the Press Council whenever and wherever this right is infringed.
              Copies of this press release shall be sent forthwith by the office of the Press Council to (1) The Chief Ministers/ Chief Secretaries/Secretaries of Information Departments of all States/Union Territories (2)  The Union Minister of I&B/Secretary of I&B Ministry, Govt. of India (3) Members of Press Council (4)  Press Organisations.
                                                                                                                             (Markandey Katju)
                                                                                                                   Chairman, Press Council of India

No comments:

Post a Comment